If you have any questions about a drunk driving arrest in North Carolina, contact Caulder & Valentine Law Firm, PLLC, for a consultation.
Increased Patrols on Super Bowl Sunday
Police and law enforcement across North Carolina are no strangers to the partying habits of football fans on Super Bowl Sunday. The North Carolina Highway Patrol and other agencies are on high alert for the hours right around the end of the Super Bowl, as revelers start to head home and parties wind down.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), issued a notice about the problem of drunk driving around the Super Bowl. The NCHP sent out a tweet Sunday morning, “Our lineup is ready for the big game because everyone loses when you chose to drive while impaired.”
The police look for telltale signs of impairment, like weaving across lanes, sudden or delayed braking, or any traffic violation that could justify a traffic stop. Driving out of a parking lot without your headlights on, driving with a broken taillight, or failing to signal a lane change may be enough for the police to make a traffic stop. During the traffic stop, the police will look for any signs of impairment, including:
- Odor of alcohol on the driver's breath,
- Slurring of speech or bloodshot eyes,
- Contradictory statements about where the driver was coming from or where they were headed, or
- Open containers of alcohol in the vehicle.
Before going to an event where you know you will be drinking alcohol, make sure to have a plan in place to get home safely. This could mean designating a sober driver, limiting your consumption to only a couple of drinks, or staying the night at a friend's house. However, if you were already arrested for driving while impaired (DWI), you should focus on what you can do to keep your driving privileges.
Penalties for a North Carolina DWI Conviction
The penalties for a DWI depend on a number of factors, including prior DWI convictions, blood alcohol concentration (BAC), and whether anyone was injured in an accident. The minimum penalties for a first-offense DWI generally fall under a Level V misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $200 and a minimum jail sentence of 24 hours, up to a maximum of 60 days in jail.
For many people, the hardest part of dealing with a DWI conviction is losing their driving privileges. All persons charged with a DWI who refuse to take a breath test or test with a BAC of 0.08 or more, will have their license revoked immediately for 30 days.
North Carolina DWI Defense Attorneys
At Caulder & Valentine Law Firm, PLLC, we have helped drivers and their families deal with criminal driving charges to stay out of jail and keep their driver's license. Contact us today in Shelby for a consultation.